Friendly Lists: Tyler Dempsey

Today’s super special sauce guest list is by Tyler Dempsey, lead banjo-diddler of All These Teepees.   
Favorite Songs of the Past Year: I really liked “Tonto” by Battles, it reminded me of a math equation, you know, a sexy sort of math equation. “Bamboo Banga” by M.I.A. and “I Woke Up Today” by Port O’Brien got a lot of play too.

Favorite Older Songs of the Moment: It would have to be “Bring the Rain” by Neil Young. I’m not certain what album it was even on, I found it on this mix somewhere, but it kind of blends all of Young’s strongpoints. The version I have is a live recording, very tender, like the staring at a snow mountain sort of tender. Also, Michael Jackson has controlled some of my attention lately.

Favorite New Band or Older Band You Recently Discovered:
This isn’t so recent, but it is the most excited I have gotten in recent memory about a band. It’s this band Aphrodite’s Child and they are from Greece and recorded in the late 60’s and early 70’s if I’m not mistaken. Their opus was this experimental record entitled “666“, which is braggable. Anyways its like The Beatles, The Beach Boys, and Aesop sat around smoking pot and talking the Book of Revelation from the Christian Bible. A lot of the two discs is pretty out there, and some of it is just transcendental. A new band that I’m excited about is Fire on Fire, recently signed to Young God, they have a song called “Heavy D” that is the putting into song what you have always known. Timeless stuff.

Favorite Song Ever:
Can’t answer that…maybe “Comfortably Numb.”

Best Recent Concert:
Probably Justice at the Palladium in Dallas, TX. More of a party than a concert, and more of a best time had by all than a best show.

Last Great Film I Saw:
“No Country For Old Men” is the best film I have seen in quite some time.

Last Great Book I Read:
A book called “Too Loud a Solitude” by Bohumil Hrabal, might have to check the spelling on that, but it is about this guy who compacts paper and educates himself from the bits of books he salvages. It’s really about the indestructability of knowledge and all that, beautifully written and very intelligently done.

First Album You Remember Buying:
Green Day’s “Dookie” on cassette.

Favorite Band to Hate On That All Your Friends Heart:
I really hate to “Hate On” anything really, Kurt Vonnegut has a quote that I love about criticizing a work of art being like putting on a suit of armor and attacking an ice cream sunday. But if I had to pick it would be RJD2…never liked em’.

Best Purchase of the Last Year:
Nothing memorable, I really don’t buy a ton of stuff.

Best Thing I Did This Year:
The Justice show in Dallas…hands down.

Favorite Recent Drunk Moment:
All of them, why else get drunk than for moments.

Favorite TV Show at the Moment:
“It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”

Favorite Video Game at the Moment:
Haven’t played one in a long time, favorite all time would be “Final Fantasy VII”

Most Commonly Eaten Food Product:
Probably a burrito, but they give me graboids in my tum tum.

My Ringtone:
Some pre-setting.

2 responses to “Friendly Lists: Tyler Dempsey

  1. silenceinarchitecture

    The last RJD2 album was more James Blunt than big fat blunt, which is to say (for those who like to be whacked over the head) that it sucked. I can understand you not really digging their older stuff as well, Tyler, however…give “Someone’s Second Kiss” another listen and tell me that isn’t one of the illest songs eva. In Al Gore South Park voice: “I’m super, super cereal”.

  2. silenceinarchitecture

    Also, in reference to Green Day’s “Dookie” (which shits all over that oh-look-suddenly-we’re-political-but-who-gets-their-politics-from-a-pop-punk-band “American Idiot”), I recall a 5th grade lip synch in which I performed “She” to an auditorium of adoring fans. The days of Willard Elementary: the apex of my rock stardom.

Leave a Reply

