Friendly Lists: Jezy Gray

Today’s list comes from our Dentonian friend, Jezy Gray. 

Favorite Songs of the Past Year: “Reckoner” by Radiohead blew me away the first time I heard it, and I still get chills every time it gets to that one part. You know the part I’m talking about — with the crash cymbals. Also, the title track from The Field’s “From Here We Go to Sublime” is equally stellar.

Favorite Older Songs of the Moment: “Everybody Plays the Fool” by Marvin Gaye, and basically anything from the ELO catalog.

Favorite New Band or Older Band You Recently Discovered: There’s this really wild pseudo-Japanese concept album called “Le Monde Fabuleux Des Yamasuki” by The Yamasuki Singers that came out in ’71. Definitely my favorite discovery of last year, hands down. It’s these two French guys, Jean Kluger and Daniel Vangarde, and they make these really great pop songs based on some traditional Japanese dance called the Yamasuki. It’s awesome.

Favorite Song Ever: “The Girl from Ipanema” by Stan Getz and Joao Gilberto.

Best Recent Concert: The Flaming Lips New Year’s Extravaganza!

Last Great Film I Saw: Breathless. I can’t really argue with anyone who calls it French New Wave wankery, but it’s really pretty and fun.

Last Great Book I Read: Ficciones, a collection of stories by Jorge Luis Borges. “The Circular Ruins,” in particular, completely blew my mind.

First Album You Remember Buying: “Thriller” was the first album I remember hearing, but I’m not too sure about the first one I ever bought. I’m sure it was some middle-of-the-road alt-rock band I heard on The Edge.

Favorite Band to Hate On That All Your Friends Heart: No particular band comes immediately to mind. I never got into Clap Your Hands Say Yeah.

Best Purchase of the Last Year: I broke down and bought a DVD player that costs more than $30. It hasn’t malfunctioned yet.

Best Thing I Did This Year: Saved Darfur by purchasing a ‘Save Darfur’ t-shirt. That was a close one.

Favorite Recent Drunk Moment: I’ve really been kind of a boring drunk since I moved to Texas. It’s usually just my girlfriend and me drinking beer and watching Curb Your Enthusiasm until we get sleepy.

Favorite TV Show at the Moment: I need to start watching a new show. I just re-watch all my Curb and Seinfeld DVDs, or I watch CNN. I hear really good things about The Wire.

Favorite Video Game at the Moment: My boss and I play Scrabble on her Mac at work sometimes. That’s probably the closest I’ve come to playing a video game in a long time.

Most Commonly Eaten Food Product: Frozen pizza, or something else equally bad for me/easy to make.

My Ringtone: “Mr. Tough” by Yo La Tengo, but it’s usually on vibrate.

Leave a Reply

