Friendly Lists: Dave Dickinson

Today’s guest list is by Dave Dickinson, six-string strummer for All These Teepees. 

Favorite Songs of the Past Year: “reckoner” off “in rainbows” is probably my favorite song off said album, and it came out this past year. ya, it’s an “okay” song off an “okay” album.

Favorite Older Songs of the Moment: “can’t get it out of my head” by ELO. at least i think that’s the name of the song. it has been one of my favorite older songs for quite some time. I just can’t get it out of my head. “heroes” by david bowie makes me want to cry. bobby dylan’s “mr. tambourine man” is always a winner.

Favorite New Band or Older Band You Recently Discovered: grizzly bear is a band i was recently introduced to thanks to my good friend blake stewart, so i bought the album “yellow house,” and i really like it. i also bought the red house painters’ album “songs for a blue guitar” recently(thank you tyler dempsey) and i’m really digging mark kozelek right now. it’s my first time to own any of his stuff. i’m way behind, i know

Favorite Song Ever: “let down” by radiohead. perfect

Best Recent Concert: went and saw the meat puppets and built to spill just last weekend. it kicked ass. it also led me to raise my own expectations of my songwriting abilities and guitar playing skills to a whole new level. the meat puppets are bad ass mo fos by the way

Last Great Film I Saw: probably the fountain, it was pretty intense.

Last Great Book I Read: perks of being a wallflower.

First Album You Remember Buying: “back in black” AC/DC. oh ya!

Favorite Band to Hate On That All Your Friends Heart: i don’t know which, if any, of my friends like incubus, but i think they suck pretty bad. also jack johnson, but most of my friend share my dislike for his inability to write music. well, he wrote that one song, then made ten copies of it and put them all on a cd and called it an album. he’s repeated that whole process a few times now.

Best Purchase of the Last Year: fender american deluxe ash stratocaster tobacco sunburst w/rosewood fretboard.

Best Thing I Did This Year: as of 08’…decided to say “fuck you school!” as of 07’…helped form the teepees

Favorite Recent Drunk Moment: being drunk. dancing my ass off. it’s all good

Favorite TV Show at the Moment: probably “it’s always sunny in philadelphia.”

Favorite Video Game at the Moment: not a fan of video games

Most Commonly Eaten Food Product: sandwiches and hotdogs

this wasn’t on the survery,but:
to elliott smith-i love you and miss you everyday, you are my favorite

My Ringtone:

2 responses to “Friendly Lists: Dave Dickinson

  1. silenceinarchitecture

    I suffer from Meat Puppets envy.

  2. they were pretty bad ass

Leave a Reply

