Friendly Lists: Chase Jackson

Favorite Songs of the Past Year: Crystal Castles remix of “Crimewave” by Health has been one of my favorite songs to dance to. Their remixes are sick! Another great remix that I am absolutely in love with is Ratatat’s remix of Bjork’s “Wanderlust”. I’ve been listening to Beach House’s new album Devotion constantly. My favorite track off of that is “Turtle Island”. Other songs I really enjoyed from the past year are M.I.A – “$20”, Radiohead – “Nude”, Chromatics – “I Want Your Love”, and Studio – “West Side”

Favorite New Band or Older Band You Recently Discovered: I’ve been getting into the debut lp by Fuck Buttons. It’s like this joyous clusterfuck of opposing genres battling it out. It’s quite a captivating listening experience. I also really like High Places. They have an exciting playfulness about them that I’m digging.

Favorite Song Ever: This is such a hard question, whose answer changes weekly, if not daily. Right now I’d have to say “Shadow of a Doubt” by Sonic Youth or “End of the Line” by Roxy Music.

Best Recent Concert: Crystal Castles @ Hailey’s in Denton, Texas. Strobe lights, heavy breathing, sweaty, crazed bodies giving themselves over to abandon. Never has dance music been so hardcore.

Last Great Film I Saw: The last film I saw in theaters was There Will Be Blood. I’ve seen it twice but I could see it 7 more times. I thought it was the best picture of last year. Every aspect of it absolutely floored me. The people that say it is a boring waste of 3 hours make my eye twitch.

Last Great Book I Read: Crackpot by John Waters. I think John Waters is one of the funniest people alive. A very enjoyable read.

First Album You Remember Buying: The Breeders – Last Splash

Favorite Band to Hate On That All Your Friends Heart: Life Without Buildings. For some reason, we just didn’t hit it off.

Best Purchase of the Last Year: I got some really nice headphones that are extremely comfortable and have yet to give me any grief.

Best Thing I Did This Year: Seeing Sonic Youth perform “Trilogy” live. When they launched into the “Eliminator Jr.” section of it, I almost lost my mind.

Favorite Recent Drunk Moment: The dance party at Nicole’s apartment after celebrating Jezy’s 21st Birthday at Cellerman’s. Good Times!!

Favorite TV Show at the Moment: The Bad Girls Club on the Oxygen network. It’s about all these 20-something women with attitude problems living under one roof. The reason it’s so great is because there is a fight almost every single week and usually when a girl gets kicked out or leaves, another comes to take their place, so the dynamic within the household is constantly changing. Highly addictive.

Favorite Video Game at the Moment: Guitar Hero III, because it features Sonic Youth’s “Kool Thing”. What?!!

Most Commonly Eaten Food Product: Honey Nut Cheerios

My Ringtone: “Rolling Down The Hills” by Glass Candy

P.S. I’m also very smitten with Hercules and Love Affair. The songs with Antony Hegarty on vocals sound like Nina Simone getting down with Arthur Russell. In my top five at the end of the year, for sure.

3 responses to “Friendly Lists: Chase Jackson

  1. Oh how I love chaser. I couldn’t agree more with chase about the bad girls club. i haven’t seen that many episodes but I can just see Chase sitting on his bed laughing is ass off.

  2. Chase, come to the dollar movies with me every day There Will Be Blood plays. Or just go once. It really would be worth it to see in the theater again.

  3. silenceinarchitecture

    I’m going to build a movie theater in my back yard just so I can play “There Will Be Blood” every night this summer. Please send me monies so my dreams can come true.

    20 dollars ain’t shit to me, but that’s how much they are.

Leave a Reply

