My Addiction to Pandora Radio

Over the past couple of weeks I have acquired a deadly addiction.  To Pandora Radio.  I should probably seek help but I have been too busy building up a collection of my own highly specific radio stations. 

Acid Casualty Radio

A head expanding collection of psychedelia and such.  Lysergically lost lads like Syd Barrett, Roky Erickson and Julian Cope populate this rabbit hole.

B.E.A.T. Radio

The nu wave of French Touch and Gonzo Glitch.  Or whatever.  Boys Noize and the like.

CHEESE! Radio

The songs that populate the ’80s soundtrack of my mind.  Or Miami Vice music.  Madonna, Cutting Crew, Journey, Eddie Money…

Dad Rock Radio

A rockin station filled with the sounds of riding around as a wee lad in my dad’s pickup.  Sabbath, Thin Lizzy, Van Halen, Zeppelin.  You know, Balls Rock.

Dub Your Head Down Radio

Last summer Daniel and I would blast dub and reggae and go fishing, doing our best to convince ourselves we were in Jamaica.  This is that stuff.

Isolation Radio

The sound of dreary, decaying England, circa the late ’70s and very early ’80s.  Joy Division, The Fall, Gang of Four, and other soot-blackened souls.

Low Down Blues Radio

Cotton pickin’ music.  Stagger Lee haunts these places.

The Modern Things Radio

The hip things hip people listen to these days.  Or at least the things I can be bothered listening to: Liars, Animal Collective, etc.

Nostalgia Trippin’ Radio

Basically the station built to accompany the super popular ’90s list that recently took the blogging world by storm.  Though I’m not sure why Seether kept pooping up, excuse me, popping up.  No, pooping.  I think I’ve fixed that problem.  Flannel and depression.

Our Band Could Be Your Life Radio

Yeah, like the book.  Which I have read more than any other book ever.  American indie from an era when that actually meant something: the ’80s.  So, y’know The Replacements, Sonic Youth, Big Black, the Meat Puppets, and Mission of Burma live here.

Out There Radio

Heavy on esoterism, light on boring.  Sun City Girls, Swans, and a host of other brain-bending things that appear and reappear in the pages of The Wire.

The Rest is Noise Radio

Primarily modern classical music from the 20th Century with a few late 1800s patrons scattered here and there.  Beauty and atonality in one place.

Satan’s Lil’ Good Time Radio

Music approved by the Dark Prince.  Lots of black metal and death metal and doom metal and whatever other types of metal the Devil’s minions have on their black iPods.  Entombed, Slayer, Emperor, Gorgoroth, la la la.

Skeet Fleet Radio

All crack, nothing whack.  Where Lil’ Wayne is President and the Wu-Tang Clan is his cabinet. 

Smoove Mooves Radio

All that jazz.  Ornette, Miles, Coltrane, Mingus and all the hip gang.

Sonic Death Radio

A catch-all for everything.  Eclectic and un-sucky.

Sour Kraut Radio

For when your heartbeat is controlled by that motorik sound of Can, Neu!, and Amon Duul II.

Whiskey and Heartache Radio

Sometimes all you need is a bottle of Jim Beam and a Waylon Jennings record.

Go here and search for silenceinarchitecture@gmail.com to listen.  I’m sure new stations will be added.  And they will rule.

5 responses to “My Addiction to Pandora Radio

  1. <<>>

    For those who didn’t already know about your early music experiences, this just might explain a few things about you. We have a video of you at about 14 months of age playing around with the radio and dancing. When you messed with the dial and came to a country station your dad can be heard in the background telling you we don’t listen to that stuff.

  2. That’s weird. I tried to include the part about your “Dad Rock” station but it didn’t copy. Anyway, that’s what I was referring to.

  3. All of those sound awful…

  4. Wow, what a sweet post!

    I’m thrilled to hear that you’re enjoying Pandora so much. What a fine list of stations. Truly impressive.

    Send me an email, and I’ll refer you to a Pandora Addicts Anonymous group.

    Best,
    Lucia, from Pandora

  5. Might not be your thing, but as one of your “possibly related” link people, I thought I’d hip you to my show– experimental and avant-garde music, 4-6:30am Saturday mornings, CST. Hit me back if you want links to some of the downloadable episodes!

Leave a Reply

