The Wiener Circle (NSFW)

There are certain experiences in this wacky, mixed-up world that I always look forward to: my next sushi meal, the first sign of Spring, and a new episode of “This American Life“.  Among all the finer things one can partake in, the reassuring voice of Ira Glass coming through the radio each week is up near the top.  It seems that, no matter what the subject may be, I have never been let down by this show.  I laugh, I cry, and I always feel like I come away with a better understanding of what it means to be human.

This past week I finally got around to watching Showtime’s televised version of “This American Life” and was unable to turn it off until I had watched each episode of the first season.  From the bizarre world of modern pig farms to a Mormon artist searching for bearded men, it is  essential viewing. 

The following is a clip focusing on the drunken and usually profane culture surrounding a little hot dog stand in Chicago called The Wiener Circle.  It features a lot of dirty words, but it’s a pretty fascinating vignette.  So, check it out!

2 responses to “The Wiener Circle (NSFW)

  1. Shit yeah. I nearly flipped when I discovered the first season of TAL was on Netflix’s “Watch Instantly” feature.

    I love the episode where the guy gets the group of “fans” together for the unsigned band’s show. So morally complex.

  2. Oh my god!! I’ve totally been to The Wieners Circle!! I love all those beautiful foul-mouthed black women. They don’t take any shit. “Make yo’ money!”

Leave a Reply

