Animal Collective Chat on NPR

1411042234_l

2/3 or 1/2 (their many configurations make it difficult for accurate fractions) of Animal Collective will be on NPR’s All Things Considered today at 2:00 p.m. EST.  Maybe they will talk about the Sun City Girls or drugs or Lisbon or handshakes.  And maybe NPR will read the comment I left with them about their cliched reportage from rural Oklahoma yesterday.  Maybe.  Listen here:

http://www. npr. org/templates/story/story. php?storyId=99607179

And why not?

Clip from the Sun City Girls‘ video “The Halcyon Days of Symmetry”:

2 responses to “Animal Collective Chat on NPR

  1. Oh-hell-yes @ Sun City Girls.

    I love All Things Considered and look forward to hearing the AC interview (it will surely be electronically archived, right?) The link doesn’t work for me, probably because I’m on campus, and I’m nowhere near a radio.

    Also: I want to know more about this cliched reportage from rural Oklahoma.

    • silenceinarchitecture

      For some reason the link was working earlier and then quit…but yeah, hopefully it will be archived. It was an interesting interview.

      In reply to the cliched reportage:
      On my way to work, and then again on my way home, NPR had a reporter stationed in Coalgate asking people about their take on the historical import of Obama’s election, or whether they were paying attention at all. Essentially I felt that it once again painted most Oklahomans as backwards yokels. Which, yeah, a good many are, but it isn’t a fair representation of the state as a whole. Here is what I said on the website:

      While I understand the point of this piece was to show what “the other side” thinks about this historic day, it also further propagates the idea that rural America, Oklahoma in particular, remains reticent to progress. I am a 25 year old living in Ada, a small college town, not far from Coalgate, and a very substantial percentage of people in my age group welcomed the Obama presidency with open arms. My friend Jezy, an English major at the University of North Texas, was raised in the small Oklahoma town of Madill and wrote a very moving piece about what it means to be a young witness to this historical movement:

      and then I pointed them to your post.

Leave a Reply

