New Music: Bat for Lashes “Pearl’s Dream”

l_e891948013cd25ccf4d3e821219ea478

I’m an embarrassingly (almost) huge fan of Kate Bush, with Hounds of Lovebeing one of my most-frequently spun records.  Like, I’ll sneak her songs into any mixtape I can.  I’m one of those people.

Bat For Lashes’ Fur and Gold was a Thom Yorke (and Chris Piercy) approved update on the Bush Doctrine.  I’m sure Natasha Khan is tired of hearing the incessant comparisons, but to someone like me, it’s about as high a compliment as you can pay.   I have only heard a few songs off the new album (Two Suns); certainly not enough to give any sort of evaluation, but I do know that “Pearl’s Dream” is one of my favorite songs so far this year.  At this point I should probably also confess to loving Tori Amos’ Boys for Pele.   Oh, and this album features a duet with SCOTT WALKER!!!  That’s all.

Ed. Note: I took the mp3 off because I decided I didn’t want to deal with the Web Sheriff. 

Two Suns comes out on Astralwerks April, 6.

Official Site

One response to “New Music: Bat for Lashes “Pearl’s Dream”

  1. Love this, and Kate Bush! i’m right there with you!

Leave a Reply

