DVD Pick: “Old Joy” (2006)

Since Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy (Will Oldham) has a great new album out (Beware) and is on the current cover of my favorite music magazine (Wire), I decided to finally get around to watching this movie.  Well, plus there is that whole beef with Wes Anderson*.  Old Joy is a simple meditation on growing up and growing apart that I guarantee will make you book a camping trip as soon as possible.

*And he does have a point.  I agree that American cinema has a tendency to use pop music as a crutch that the great European directors don’t seem as likely to rely upon.  That’s a different post though.

Chris

3 responses to “DVD Pick: “Old Joy” (2006)

  1. I’ve wanted to see this for a while. Didn’t Yo La Tengo score it, or am I making that up?

  2. This comes on either Sundance or IFC on a consistant basis. When I watch it, I picture Gus Van Sant seething with jealousy, Scout Niblett’s decision to contact her old chum Bonnie “Prince” Billy to collaborate on some songs, and get an even deeper feeling in my gut that I should move to Portland, OR.

Leave a Reply

